1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

NAV Question - Entering specific route.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by rhanson739, Nov 25, 2008.

1. rhanson739

rhanson739 is loving the new Prihicle

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Hi -

I'm pretty new to the 08 Prius, and completely new to Nav systems. So far, though, "Lola" has done pretty well for me.

Question: Is there any way to enter, or pre-designate, a specific route without relying on Lola's three routes?

Let's say that I have a detailed paper map of an area, and I want to take back roads without ever referencing that map. Is there any way to surf around the Nav systems map before driving, and pick "this road", "that turn", and other guidance points? I'd like to lock in that route, and then just sit back and drive.

Thanks!
    Rob

2. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Not directly. Automobile nav systems are not like those on boats and planes, where you always link a number of waypoints into a route.

You can accomplish something similar by using multiple destinations, and linking one to the next. Jill (that's her real name, according to the data file) will still give you three choices, but the choices will all route through your intermediate destinations.

The bad thing is that you cannot save these routes. You can save the waypoints and reuse them, but you have to select each destination every time and add it to the current route. I hope Toyota changes this in a future version.

Tom

3. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    The best way to accomplish that would be to enter by the various "intersections" I think.

What you might do is do the usual point to point map...then go back and enter any changes as additional way-points...depending upon the route that may work well..or it may not.