1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Nav system worth 5k?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by Bob Allen, Jan 18, 2004.

1. Bob Allen

Bob Allen Captainbaba

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Hi: My life partner's son and I test drove a Prius a few weeks ago and I'm on the list. The car we drove had all the nav com systems. I fly for a living, and thought the panel mounted GPS moving map was much like those in the planes I teach in. The difference is that an airplane is totally 3-D and your opportunites for getting lost are infinitely greater. Needless to say, the "son unit" who is 15, was urging me to order the Prius with the nav system. I balked at the additional 5k and told him that we could use a portable GPS like the ones we use in the airplane, which would cost me about 800-1500 bucks, depending on color, citymap databases, etc.
    Do those of you "flying" the fully equpped Prius (honestly) believe the systems are worth the money? It's neat technology, I admit, but it sounds from the chat line, that there are bugs to be worked out. It would be tough for someone who just forked over an additional 5200 bucks to admit that, maybe, it wasn't quite what they expected. On the other hand, it might be a real deal since I have no idea what it would cost to install the voice activated gizmos and the cell phone interfaces.
    Thanks,
    Bob Allen
    p.s. The Prius is the airplane I cannot afford to buy.

2. Wolfman

Wolfman New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A