Navigation DVD Ver. 9.1

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by philflprius, Aug 26, 2009.

  1. Greg_M

    Greg_M Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    150
    35
    0
    Location:
    NC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    I've got a 2004 prius with navigation and it still has the original disk in it. My wife came home yesterday and informed me that it doesn't have part of 485 on it in Charlotte. It has not been able to find an address at least once before and that address was an old one.

    We like the nav system in the Prius and don't want to have to use a portable GPS, although we do know that it's smart for us to take the Garmin out of the other car and take it with us on trips.

    Question is how long does it take for a new highway in a major city to show up on the updates? This new section of 485 has been planned and under construction for years but has only recently opened (within the last year).
     
  2. warrior

    warrior New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    141
    0
    0
    Location:
    Paso Robles, CA USA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius

    I am just happy with my Garmin C530 thank you;)
     
  3. Greg_M

    Greg_M Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    150
    35
    0
    Location:
    NC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
  4. shankyyy

    shankyyy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    167
    3
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    How to check the version of the nav system? i'm heading to a dealer here to check out the system, and would like the steps to check the version #. If it has 9.1, may go ahead and place a deposit.
     
  5. garygid

    garygid Senior Member - Blizzard Pearl

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    379
    23
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Press the Info button, touch Maps/Navigation, read.

    Also look at the "Map Coverage" displays.
    Version 8.1 shows that it covers very little of Nevada, primarily the Las Vegas area.

    What does v9.1 cover?
    Is it "all" of the USA yet?
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. jcoppes

    jcoppes New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    8
    0
    0
    Location:
    Austin,MN
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Just (3 days ago) got prius V. Not sure of version. Most disappointed on lack of detail of streets in town where I live. Is new update better? Not near as much street detail as Garmin 700 series.
     
  7. shankyyy

    shankyyy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    167
    3
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    can u check the version and let us know? btw, when did u place the order? does ur nav has the USB/iPOD connectivity?
     
  8. rachaelseven

    rachaelseven New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    616
    211
    0
    Location:
    Adams, MA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Fwiw, the $50 rebate doesn't seem to apply to the disk we have to turn in. With the NAV09 coupon code, you can get it for $175, but I have no idea if it is actually the right disk for our system (they say for generation 5 nav and ours is generation 6?).
     
  9. Bobsprius

    Bobsprius BobPrius

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    679
    79
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Couldn't agree more. There has been a lot of bashing and I think it all boils down to personal choice and likes. I had a NAV system in my Honda and compared to what I have seen thus far in the Toyota it's FAR SUPERIOR! I mean that wholeheartedly. It's much more intuitive, much better overall and with great BT functionality. I don't experience any delay in BT so I am assuming it's based upon what Unit one is pairing. It's obvious since I don't experience it, it's not the system. It finds most ALL locations in my area and I am not in a major metropolis for sure. I suspect in a upcoming new development they only update on a periodic basis and from what I was told, it's not that often. So, your bound to have shortcomings, but it's not realtime so I wouldn't expect that. I love it and love the integration, but then it's a matter of personal choice but the bashing is truly not fair. And for those who hate to not be able to enter commands while driving, maybe SAFETY was the issue??? We have enough people crashing daily from Texting and Cell phone use. It's time we paid attention to driving. And the Voice Commands work fairly well, so use it! Sorry for Ranting....:rolleyes:
     
  10. Jim Calvert

    Jim Calvert New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    255
    28
    8
    Location:
    Worthington, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    What is the association between Denso Corporation, Navteq, and Tele Atlas? It is really frustrating to unravel this combo and go to the correct source in searching for information on the latest map DVDs.

    For example, a visit to the Navteq website will show that Navteq lists a large number of automobile manufacturers for which they sell map DVDs for factory installed navigation systems, but Toyota is not one of them.

    So is Navteq still involved with the Prius navigation system maps? :confused:
     
  11. jcoppes

    jcoppes New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    8
    0
    0
    Location:
    Austin,MN
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    My version is 8.1 and I do have the USB/ipod connectivity. My car came off the truck one week ago and it had the options I wanted(I think) and now I have about 250 miles on it at about 46 mpg.

    I will be contacting my dealer next week about the upgraded version.
     
  12. jcoppes

    jcoppes New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    8
    0
    0
    Location:
    Austin,MN
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    BTW what is a junior member?
     
  13. Gadgetdad

    Gadgetdad New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    462
    53
    0
    Location:
    Modesto, California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    :rolleyes: Hey folks, this really works! I'm going out to the car right now and do this simple upgrade!

    Thanks, Jayman for the link!

    Lee
     
  14. shankyyy

    shankyyy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    167
    3
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    cool.thx. looks like even now toyota is shipping with the old version. not sure whether they are even going to upgrade to the new version for the 2010 prius
     
  15. ad2001

    ad2001 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    13
    3
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I got a Prius iV on Tuesday and it says version 9.1 both on the disc as well as in the Navi info screen
     
  16. garygid

    garygid Senior Member - Blizzard Pearl

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    379
    23
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Does your 9.1 DVD have a part number on the disc label?

    I think I need to try and make a safety backup (use copy) of my 8.1 DVD
    and then store my original 8.1 NaviDvd in a safe place.
    I will have to test the backup copy to see if it is fully functional.
     
  17. Dark_matter_doesn't

    Dark_matter_doesn't Prius Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    691
    150
    41
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Apparently, the Lexus version of the 9.1 update does include software changes, including an option to defeat the motion-lockout feature. Can those with the 9.1 update confirm this?

    Also, I'll comment that update DVD's from Navteq run about $200+, so the Toyota price isn't surprising.
     
  18. cmalberto

    cmalberto New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    95
    3
    0
    Location:
    Sour Lake, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I have made a backup copy and using it now. I have my 8.1 original put up. And I probably will upgrade mine to 9.1. I paid alot of money for the Sun Roof/Nav package not to update it.

    --Mickey
     
  19. garygid

    garygid Senior Member - Blizzard Pearl

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    379
    23
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Wow, with 6.8 GB (just under 7,400,000,000 bytes), the 8.1 DVD requires a 2-layer DVD (which I do not have at the moment). That is a LOT of data storage. Maybe some is redundant, and just there to support older Nav systems?

    Portable GPS products typically get every road in the USA and Canada, with 5 to 12 million POI on less than 2 GB (on an SD card or in internal flash memory).

    Considering their apparently-incomplete road coverage, one wonders what they are doing with all that data. Any ideas?
     
  20. Jim Calvert

    Jim Calvert New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    255
    28
    8
    Location:
    Worthington, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    It is someone obviously less qualified than us "senior" members. :D

    Just kidding. If you keep posting you will soon become a "member", and if you keep posting even more you will eventually become a "senior" member. At least that's my guess.
     
    1 person likes this.
Loading...