Navigation system compatibility

Discussion in 'Prius c Audio and Electronics' started by thealley, Jan 21, 2023.

  1. thealley

    thealley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2023
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Malta
    Vehicle:
    2017 Aqua
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello,

    I would like to change the Eclipse navigation system that came with my Japan-import Aqua since it's all in Japanese. The car is the Base L facelift model pictured here in the first post:

    Need some clarifications on my type of Aqua | PriusChat

    Since I'm not very technical on connecting systems to cars, I would like to know if any of these models hereunder would fit in my car, and if there could be any surprises, like for example:
    1) that they wouldn't be compatible with the already-connected reverse camera
    2) that they wouldn't fit due to sizing limitations
    3) that I would't have the full FM range in Europe (same problem as with the Eclipse one I currently have installed)

    etc...

    Many thanks for any insights and suggestions!

    These are the models I was looking at:

    shorturl.at/dIL24

    shorturl.at/DHJWZ

    shorturl.at/cpQV9

    shorturl.at/hlrwY

    shorturl.at/jvFRZ
     
  2. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

    Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    5,136
    5,031
    1
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    You've got valid concerns.

    I don't know anything about any of those decks. They seem pretty nice though.

    We adapted ours to a standard double-DIN size and then installed a "universal fit" Sony Carplay/AA receiver. The place we bought it from gave us a lot of information and help with installing and wiring it.
     
    thealley likes this.
  3. thealley

    thealley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2023
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Malta
    Vehicle:
    2017 Aqua
    Model:
    N/A
    Update - in the attached image, the top left image is a sample of an Aqua from the internet, the top right is mine, while the bottom centre image is the navigation system being sold in one of the links. I'm noting that my hazard light button is circle as opposed to the other which is square. The navigation system being sold seems to implicate that it is for the square version, but not sure if that is intended.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Todd Bonzalez

    Todd Bonzalez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2022
    125
    72
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Looks like you've got a double-DIN unit so should be a straight swap (more or less).

    Obviously take out the head unit and measure the dimensions to confirm it's double-DIN before you buy.

    My personal experience of Aliexpress head units is that they're junk, with a short life. You're on your own when they break:D

    I'd recommend spending €250-300 and buying a name brand that works with Carplay/Android Auto natively (without needing a third-party app). Although, having just recommended a name brand, :giggle: these ATOTO head units are getting good reviews right now and there's a €25 discount on Amazon Italy:

    Code:
    https://www.amazon.it/dp/B079D1KN7B
     
  5. sam spade 2

    sam spade 2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    6,332
    2,498
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    Are you overlooking the obvious here ?

    For about $100 US, you should be able to get a good Garmin......with free map updates.
    The map updates for a Toyota head unit will NOT be free.

    For about $0, an app on your phone might work.......if any of the GPS apps are compatible with where you live.
     
    Kerrynzl likes this.
  6. Todd Bonzalez

    Todd Bonzalez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2022
    125
    72
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    The problem is that the car was imported from Japan - the head unit is Japanese, with Japanese text, and they'll need a range expander to pick up the frequency range in Europe (which is different from Japan and the US).
     
  7. sam spade 2

    sam spade 2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    6,332
    2,498
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    OK but that is a different problem than the question that was initially asked.

    A compatible head unit without GPS might be a lot easier to find.
    And if, for instance, you get one out of a wrecked 2017......the maps in it likely will be 7 years old.
     
  8. thealley

    thealley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2023
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Malta
    Vehicle:
    2017 Aqua
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm looking for an Android system which I could play around with. With a Garmin you're limited to Garmin maps.
     
  9. thealley

    thealley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2023
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Malta
    Vehicle:
    2017 Aqua
    Model:
    N/A
    What is a double DIN and how can I check that it is so? I'm sorry am not very technical hardware-wise.

    What do you think about the square vs round hazard-light? Could it not fix properly?
     
  10. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

    Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    5,136
    5,031
    1
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    double-DIN is (literally) an industry standard size for car stereos. It guarantees interchangeability. If your car already has the bracket and bezel for a double-DIN setup, then it becomes very easy to upgrade to another double-DIN sized unit.

    The really high quality, name brand stereos are generally offered in double-DIN format.

    The rigs you found on aliexpress are something new- it has sort of become a 'wild west' of auto electronics in just a few short years.

    You can probably get a hazard switch meant for a different version of the aqua with the correct shape for the faceplate they're selling.
     
    thealley likes this.
  11. Todd Bonzalez

    Todd Bonzalez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2022
    125
    72
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Aftermarket head units usually come in DIN or double-DIN size

    DIN is 180mm wide by 50mm high (7" by 2" for our American friends :) )
    Double-DIN is 180mm by 100mm (or 7" by 4")

    With most modern cars you need to buy a fascia adapter to make DIN- or double-DIN-sized hole in your dash, but it looks like you might be able to fit a double-DIN unit right in. If so, you don't need to remove/replace the fascia the hazard switch sits in. Why don't you take the head unit out and measure the dimensions to confirm?
     
  12. Kerrynzl

    Kerrynzl Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2022
    38
    18
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2016 Aqua
    Model:
    N/A

    All Aquas can use either a Single DIN or Double DIN depending on how low down the food chain the "poverty pack options" are.
    The Japanese love the basic commuter cars......then they go crazy personalizing them.

    Even if yours was Single Din and you want to fit Double Din you can buy the mounting cradle for about $10-$30. [but yours is already Double Din]

    But to give you some clarity! Here is a Single DIN in an Aqua [they usually have a stupid shelf for s**t to fall out into your drink holders]
    Single DIN...jpg

    Here is a Double Din
    20230118_125350.jpg

    You only need to change the fascia if you want to fit one of those awful oversized 9" screen stereos.
    In my case the Pioneer Carrozeria [above] goes as high as 99.0 FM , and where I live there is only 1 channel that is 99.8 FM .
    So I didn't bother swapping it.

    For a GPS I simply added a phone holder to the vent and use my phone [ but I'm from the generation of males that think we have homing pigeon skills]

    Here is one of those "tacky" 9" displays [don't do this]
    9in DIN.jpg

    9in DIN...jpg
     
    #12 Kerrynzl, Jan 23, 2023
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2023
    thealley likes this.
  13. Todd Bonzalez

    Todd Bonzalez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2022
    125
    72
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    lol don't get me started on those huge displays. I was looking for a head unit for my Citroen and came across this :ROFLMAO:

    upload_2023-1-23_12-15-37.png

    Just replace most of the dash, and lose the centre vent and storage pocket. Easy job :LOL:
     
    thealley likes this.
  14. thealley

    thealley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2023
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Malta
    Vehicle:
    2017 Aqua
    Model:
    N/A
    This is the unit from behind. Anyone notes any issues with incompatibility with those AliExpress models? And do you know which connector is the one for the back camera?
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Kerrynzl

    Kerrynzl Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2022
    38
    18
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2016 Aqua
    Model:
    N/A
    It is difficult to tell unless we know what model you have
    Denso made lots of different Eclipse models

    Normally it would plug into a socket like below [circled] Sometimes they have "AV" stamped on the steel
    This socket should have a single AV pin inside
    upload_2023-1-25_16-36-45.png



    Personally I wouldn't consider any Chinese drop shipped stereo from AliExpress [I've been to the factories over there and consumer rights are zero]

    Just pony up an extra $100 euros and get one locally [and buy a fitting harness kit for the stereo to your toyota]
    In NZ I can buy a JVC with Nav for NZD $560 Installed [ Eu $336 or USD $364] Plus $30 for the adaptor harness if needed

    I didn't bother because the Pioneer in my car was a good unit.

    If you want to be really cheap [like me] You can simply install a "band expander" into the Aerial plug on the radio, and plug the Aerial into the expander [In-Series]
    upload_2023-1-25_16-21-39.png

    Then you connect 1 wire to a 12volt accessory source [switched with the key]
    These are available in 10MHz [or 14MHz] so 89FM becomes 99FM [or 89FM becomes 103FM]

    Check your Eclipse out, OEM Toyota's only go to 90FM but Some aftermarket go to 99FM [like mine] which does all channels here except the Talk-back crap.
    Some Aftermarket Radios go to 108FM from Japan
     
    #15 Kerrynzl, Jan 24, 2023 at 10:30 PM
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2023 at 10:38 PM
  16. Todd Bonzalez

    Todd Bonzalez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2022
    125
    72
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Yep, hard to tell as they're made by Fujitsu and the manual is only available in Japanese.

    I think the camera connector might be the brown one on the left. In a Google search I can see Eclipse camera cables with four pins and a similar connector, but who knows?

    European FM range is 87.5 to 108MHz, so if you listen to radio this is the range to have. Note also that a lot of Japanese or Chinese radios don't have RDS either...
     
    thealley likes this.
Loading...