1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

necessary to replace OEM speaker wire with larger gauge?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by lazysheep, May 30, 2008.

1. lazysheep

lazysheep New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    i'm a noob at car audio for forgive me if this is an elementary question

i plan on replacing my oem speakers with aftermarket ones (if my car ever arrives). looking at pictures, the oem speaker wires look pretty tiny. taking into account the extra labor, is it worth it to replace all the oem speaker wires with larger gauge (what size is big enough? 14? 16?)? would i be able tell the difference?

2. sandsw

sandsw Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V

I have been out of this arena for quite a while now but I remember a whole lot research was done by Electronics Australia when thick speaker wires first arrived.
    The short answer is that once a certain size is reached increasing the thickness further has no effect.

I started to write a more detailed response on how loudspeakers worked and eventually thought:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loudspeaker
    and
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voice_coil

(doh). I will summarise though.

Electricity from the amplifier is fed through a coil of wire that is attached to the speaker cone. This voice coil is positioned inside a large magnet - floating as it were in a sea of magnetism. As the signal varies, the magnetic field generated by the voice coil changes. This reacts to the passive magnetic field and causes the speaker cone to move in and out, thus generating the sound waves that we hear.

But a speaker isn't passive - it doesn't just create sound, if you talk into a speaker it will actually generate an electrical current. (Does anybody remember those old press-to-talk intercoms where the speaker doubled as the microphone?). The other problem is that the cone has inertia.