1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Need advice on high mileage gen 3 or similar gen 2

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Functional, Jul 14, 2017.

1. Functional

Functional Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Hey all, new here. I am a complete Prius noob, please bare with me.

I'm looking into a Prius.

I'm mainly looking at 2008 or 2009 models. One owner, kept clean with maintenance records preferred.

I stumbled upon a 2012 Prius with 150k miles with a decent price also negotiable, one owner, all serviced at Toyota. The car went about 28k miles a year.

I've researched that it may be good and bad due to the high mileage. What's your guys advice on this?
    Also, if It does need maintenance repairs, assuming the owner hasn't done any, what type of trouble am I looking at? I do not mind to put some money on top to repair or replace when the time comes. I drive less than 8k miles a year if that helps answers anything.

Will this be a better option than a 2008, or 2009 of similar mileage? Will I potentially spend more on repairs for a second gen vs a high mileage third gen? The price difference of the 08/09 vs 2012 is about 1.5k

If I forgot to add anything to aid in help of an answer please let me know..

Thanks in advance.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!

of course, there is no definitive answer to your question. certainly, the 2012 is a much better option because everything is newer. but the battery could go at any time ($3,500.) a/c can be a few thousand, engine might blow a gasket, etc., etc.
    that being said, you might go another 150,000 miles with no major issues.
    the big thing is, can you diy, or have to go to the dealer?

3. fotomoto

fotomoto Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid