1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

need help buying first Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Greg4324, Jan 22, 2014.

1. Greg4324

Greg4324 New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    A Toyota Dealer has a 2005 base prius with only 35,000 miles. This is my first time buying a hybrid car, I currently drive a truck and I am tired of paying for so much gas. Is there anything specific I should look for when buying the car and should I be concerned that it wasn't driven that much. This was an older couples vehicle who traded it in for a new Prius. Also can I can an aftermarket radio with a aux. input for my ipad and ipod. Thanks in advance for your help.

PriusGuy32 likes this.
  2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome to priuschat! i'm not qualified to answer your questions, but i'm sure someone who is will come along. all the best with your purchase!(y)

3. tanglefoot

tanglefoot Whee!

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Are you sure there's no aux input? Look inside the center console, toward the bottom of the front panel, near the second cigarette lighter.

I think the component of the Prius that has the hardest time with being seldom-driven is the 12v aux battery. Ask/check to see if it's been replaced. The Optima Yellow Top is a popular replacement (deep-cycle design) that holds up much better to being seldom-driven and usually has a much longer overall life span than the stock, lead-acid aux battery.

***edit. I've been made aware that most original 12v aux batteries in Prii are AGM...my parents and I just ended up with some of the few flooded ones. Me aculpa.***