1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Need help finding data for GIS project

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by supermuffingirl, Jan 24, 2007.

1. supermuffingirl

supermuffingirl Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Hi everyone,

I am a grad student in environmental science, policy & geography. I am looking for some data for a project that I am doing this semester in my GIS class.

I'd like to map Prius or hybrid sales for the nation. I can probably use hybrid vehicle registrations by state, but I'd really like something more specific, like sales per county or zip code. Does anyone know where to find that or who to ask? Is anyone in sales at Toyota or know a Toyota sales manager that might have or know where to get this data? The smaller the "unit" the better the analysis.

Then I'm doing to map other data like air quality, gas prices, state incentives, # of licensed drivers, perception of environmental issues, etc. etc. to see if there is any correlation to actual sales.

If anyone else has any ideas for data sources, any other aspects that could be included in this analysis, I'm certainly open to suggestions :D

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

~ Super Muffin Girl

[attachmentid=6322]

Attached Files:

2. Bill Merchant

Bill Merchant absit invidia

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    First off, I like your license plate and frame!

The information you want has been pretty hard to come by; Toyota hasn't been very forthcoming. When the steering-shaft recall occurred, they released information on how many cars per state dealers could expect to see. Do a search here on the steering recall and you may find the original Toyota PDF documents. I may have them if you can't find them here.