1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Need opinions on mpg-averages 41

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by vikx, Aug 27, 2007.

1. vikx

vikx New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello all, I'm new here but the Prius is an 05. I'm very happy with my car but have never averaged over 41 mpg per tank, car has 10,000 miles on it, purchased new, serviced at the dealer. I drive to work (10 miles) at 64 miles an hour. On long trips, I do increase the speed to 70. The air is on "auto", set to 75. I am a careful driver and am not mashing the gas pedal all the time. There is about 100 pounds (or less) of tools and stuff in the back. Does anyone have comments on the mpg? (I did read the link) Thanx, VK

2. patrickindallas

patrickindallas Shire rat

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Welcome to the club!!!

I normally average ~52mpg, but I can see where yours would go down.

I drove to Austin for an NCAAW tournament game, and this is what happened.

70mph the whole way.
    Air set on 78 degrees.
    One 250 pound friend in the passenger seat.

I got a stead 42mpg there and back.

I suspect the Prius is very sensitive to the weight.

Try to lighten the load, bump up the tire pressure, bump
    up the AC a little (if you can), and try to stay off the
    highways (if at all possible).

You should see your mpg's improve considerably.

To answer your original question, if I drove my Prius (which has 8K miles now)
    with your given variables, I would probably get about the same mileage.

Enjoy your car!!!

3. Prius 07

Prius 07 Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(vikx @ Aug 27 2007, 01:37 AM) [snapback]502627[/snapback]</div>