1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Need Owners who are Parents to Contribute to Something Great

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by fruzzetti, Jun 10, 2009.

1. fruzzetti

fruzzetti Customization-Obsessed

California (Pulled over 6x, ticketed 2x for tint)
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello everyone. You may remember me or you may not. I'm a mathematician who enjoys an electronics tinkering hobby.

I'm also a new parent. My daughter is eight months old. Today I read yet another story about a four-month-old left in a car and dying in 70 degree weather.

Any parent understands that there is no adequate solution for this problem. I have a child seat alarm but you're supposed to turn it on every time you put the child in it. These companies should know parents only have two hands.

Listen, I was hoping some other like-minded people could help me develop a simple device that feels for the presence of a person in the car (maybe a directional IR motion detector or a weight detector) only after the alarm is armed (or similar delay from turning the car off) or perhaps five minutes after the driver's seat becomes empty. if a person is detected in the car after the time limit, it should call the user on the telephone or send an SMS message.

I mean, I'm certain I'll never leave my daughter in the car on accident. But I'm not certain enough that I will be always safe.

Any ideas? Does such a modification exist?

~ dan ~

2. msirach

msirach Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV