1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Need some advice.

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Richard Koop, Feb 15, 2013.

1. Richard Koop

Richard Koop New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm new to this obviously. But I'm looking to buy a Toyota Prius and I'm a poor college student. I will not be able to afford anything like the gen 3 models. I found a used 2005 toyota Prius with around 92,000 miles on it for like $10000. I'm from Kentucky, but I'm wondering if I should go for it or avoid. I've set my mind into buying a Prius ready to get rid of my jeep(turning into a rust bucket). I'll put link to the car below. Just looking for some advice. Hope some of you are willing to help, I'll be much appreciative.

Used 2005 Toyota Prius For Sale | Dry Ridge KY.

2. The Electric Me

The Electric Me Go Speed Go!

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Actually if I'm reading the ad correctly it's $11,000 as they are expecting a $1,000 dollar down payment.

But in any case I'm going to say something potentially unpopular within "Prius Chat". I wouldn't do it. If you are as you describe yourself a "poor" college student, I'd keep the Prius as a goal for when you have your career and job more established and can potentially afford a newer vehicle.

Even though it may be in great shape, that Prius is still an 8 model year old vehicle, and even in good/great shape that comes with an inherent degree of risk as far as potential maintenance issues coming up.

If I was on a budget, had less than $10,000 to spend, I'm afraid I'd want to look at potentially newer and less complicated vehicles.