1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Need Suggestions....

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by Rangerdavid, Dec 4, 2006.

1. Rangerdavid

Rangerdavid Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    I have never posted in Fred's before, but as it appears there are a wide variety of topics posted here, I thought I'd try this one. As you may (or may not) be aware, I run a law firm here in N.C. Although I've been a practicing attorney for over 25 years, I have only run my own office now for 5 (worked for other firms prior to this). I have 5 employees, 3 paralegals. Our regular office hours are 8:30-5:30.

Now, here's my problem. I have one paralegal who (for medical reasons) says she can't get in before 9:00 a.m., so she wants to work 9-6. Another is a real morning person, and wants to work 8-5. The third is ok with the 8:30-5:30 hours.

Question: should I let them work the hours they want? the office will still be open during the hours of 8:30-5:30, so that will be covered. Otherwise, I can just insist on the "regular schedule", which I'm sure will upset at least one, maybe both that want the "odd hours". In addition, due to missed time for sickness, we have recently switched all employees from salary to hourly (at an equivalent rate of pay).

I need advice and input from someone with experience running a small business please!! I really have a good group of folks, and we work well together, but I really don't like the feeling that I'm being taken advantage of. Any help or suggestions will be welcome.

I also realize that this is a bit different topic for this forum, but I've grown to respect and trust my friend here in PC for their advice and suggestions on my car, and other things, so I thought I'd take a chance with this one.

Thanks in advance.

2. Stev0

Stev0 Honorary Hong Kong Cavalier

Vehicle:
    2022 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base