1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Needing Advice: Navigation Unit Screen went black!

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by 1stTimeToyotaBuyer, Feb 18, 2014.

1. 1stTimeToyotaBuyer

1stTimeToyotaBuyer Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
    Hi all,
    I'm a newbie here! I love my 2012 Prius V wagon.
    Gas mileage is superb! Comfort and space is awesome!
    My only downside? My Navigation Unit.
    Its been replaced once already, but now I may need it replaced again!!
    (The 1st time it was replaced was due to the Entune software not accepting an upgrade... 9 months after purchase. The "extended warranty" covered it THEN. But guess what? Back then, the dealership did not follow warranty protocol and now I have a model number that is "not covered"????? What a predicament)

Well, here is what's going on NOW:
    In January I had it "detailed" inside, at a local business. Afterwards, the screen "flickered" and went "gray" as I drove away from the shop. Why, you could even see a "water stain" slowly moving across the screen and then "water spots" within the hour! So now the screen is completely dark. Unfortunately, the back-up camera no longer works.
    ( the xm radio touchscreen controls, oddly enough, still work!! BUT, you must touch the screen and change channels from memory since you can't see the icons on the screen!)

Note: I mentioned before, I had purchased the extended warranty to include the navigation unit.