1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New owner gas smell

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by 1slobalt12, Jul 28, 2018.

1. 1slobalt12

1slobalt12 New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Hey everyone just bought my first prius. It's a 2008 with 62k miles, its main use is for my 140mile round trip work commute as my other vehicle (built jeep wrangler) is a gas guzzler.

When I bought the car 2 weeks ago its was very clean and drives great for a 10 year old car.

I did just notice though a smell of gas coming from the engine bay when first starting the engine after it's been sitting for a few hours. I do most of my automotive work myself but since Im new to hybrids and just bought it I'm going to take it to the dealership and let them handle. My first thought is the o rings on the fuel Injectors, is there any recalls or issue in this regard I should be aware of?

Also I noticed that the coolant overflow for the engine was empty but when opening up the radiator you can see coolant. I'm going to have them check that out as well. I did not realize when buying the car there was 2 coolant systems.

Anything else I should check prior to bringing it in? I have been searching around on the forums for known issues etc.

2. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Congratulations on your Prius purchase.

Empty engine coolant reservoir: Use Toyota Super Long Life Coolant to replenish. Inspect the engine coolant pump bearing for whitish or pinkish coolant stains on the pump body or deposited on the air conditioner compressor housing beneath the coolant pump. If you see any signs of coolant leaking, replace the engine coolant pump.