1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New owner needs help!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by jonman007, Apr 8, 2005.

1. jonman007

jonman007 New Member

Hi everyone!

I'm a University student and I just became the owner of a 2001 Prius 'classic' which my father kindly gave to me since he has upgraded to the 2005 model.

The car has started exhibiting two problems which I believe are unrelated. The first is that occasionally for the first 15 minutes after start, the engine will surge loudly and then shudder off while freewheeling or decelerating.

The second problem is that occasionally while driving, usually at low speed, a persistent knocking sound can be heard. I have no real mechanical knowledge but it sounds like a wheel is loose or the brake is hitting the wheels. I recently changed the two front tires so I thought that was the problem but the dealer assures me the wheels are not loose.

Both problems occur sporadically. I took the car to the dealership to be checked out but they couldn't find anything wrong with my prius and neither problem presented itself while the car was with them.

I was wondering if anyone can explain these problems because the dealership doesn't seem too interested.

Thanks,

John

2. rick57

rick57 Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi John and welcome to the world of the Prius hybrid. Here you will find this site informative and at times entertaining. There are some characters here, :lol: But seriously we will try to help out as much as we can.