1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New owner of an old Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by mr_guy_mann, Oct 4, 2020.

1. mr_guy_mann

mr_guy_mann Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hello to everyone!
    Yes, I am another guy who recently purchased a high mileage Gen2 with a bad battery.
    I have been a mechanic for many years but have had relatively little experience with fixing hybrid problems. I
    see fairly few hybrid cars in my area- maybe 15 different Toyotas, a few Fords and Hondas. Usually they
    come in for routine service- oil change, brakes, tires, A/C, etc. Nothing about the electric drive systems.
    So when a chance came up to buy a 2006 Prius with 160K and a RTOD (P3000/P0A80) for $500, I jumped
    on it.The exterior was fairly clean, but the under chassis is a bit crusty-rusty. Engine runs nice and inspection
    monitors are OK, A/C blows cold. No other serious codes in any system. Needs a HV battery and some other
    "minor" work. Pretty much the nicest cheap car I've seen. It has option HK (window option sticker was in with the owner's manual). So SKS, HID headlights, VSC, etc

First thing is the battery. Scan data showed block 9 to be 1.2V lower than the others. My options are: New,
    used, rebuilt, or DIY. I could get a Toyota battery for around 1800, but not now. I wanted to get the car
    running somewhat before that kind of investment. Besides, buy new parts everywhere and soon I would have
    over $4k in a cheap car that I don't really NEED. I had already heard bad things about Dorman and
    Greenbean units so no rebuilds. A used battery MIGHT be good, MIGHT be bad- nobody knows. So I went DIY. I figured that if it worked, then great. If it didn't work, then oh well. Either way I would learn something.

First thing is the battery. Scan data showed block 9 to be 1.2V lower than the others. My options are: New,