1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New Prius Owner

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by politemusic, May 28, 2007.

1. politemusic

politemusic New Member

I've been on here several weeks, posting research questions, studying up. Finally, last weekend, I pulled the trigger. There are SO many Toyota dealerships around the LA area, and I finally found the deal I wanted with the car in stock...I got a package #2 Magnetic Gray for $21,300. A pretty good deal, I think. Paid cash, took about an hour.

The car is really a surprise. I can't believe how nicely it's put together. My previous car was a 2003 VW Passat GLS wagon...a nice car, fun to drive, pretty comfortable (though the Prius seats are better, frankly). But my combined lifetime MPG was about 21-22. Ouch. But I'm a musician, and figured I needed a wagon (particularly for my upright bass). That was until my friend came over in his new Prius, folded down the seats, and fit my upright in there even more easily than my Passat with its very cumbersome back seat fold down procedure!

Out of the gate, my first tank in the Prius was 50.0MPG, with about 70% highway driving (took the wife and 2 year old daughter to Sea World in San Diego). I'm 100 miles into my 2nd tank, getting about 51. Wow!! Plus the power steering is more progressive, the ride is better, and, as I said the seats are more comfortable, than my Passat. Nice.

I have a little buyers remorse not going for package #5 (which would be about $23,500), but what the hell. I don't NEED the Nav, and I am definitely going to upgrade the speakers and possibly get an amp, thereby rendering moot (hopefully) my need for the JBL system. I was quite interested in buying the car to save money on gas AND to buy a car that is very economical to purchase, so package #2 seemed to fit the bill best in that regard.