1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New to Prius

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by rpeeples, Dec 28, 2010.

1. rpeeples

rpeeples Experienced Toyota Owner

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello Everyone,

Just wanted to say that I am new to Prius, but not to Toyota or to hybrids. My wife and I recently traded an '07 Camry Hybrid for a '10 Prius. The Prius is the sixth Toyota we have owned since 1990 and have been very pleased with them overall:

1991 Truck (bought in 1990, still own, 130k miles)
    1993 Camry (great car, but traded at 105K miles)
    1998 4-Runner (still own, almost 200K miles)
    2005 Camry (traded at 35k miles, was injured in a crash:()
    2007 Camry (traded at 132k miles for the Prius)
    2010 Prius III

The exception is the '07 Camry. I guess you could say it is our "Eleanor". It ran great, had a great ride, had very good gas mileage, but it was all the little, annoying things that got to us. I rattled like rocks in a tin can, three of the four door locks had to have new actuator motors, the windshield leaked, and the check engine light would come on at odd times (the dealer said it was nothing and would reset after a certain number of restarts, which it always did).

After lots of research, we decided to get rid of the Camry and get a Prius. It is still too early to tell, but so far it has performed well. It does not have the "spunk" of the Camry, on the other hand, it is not meant to be a sports car. It does have almost the same amount of room inside, it is comfortable and easy to drive, and the fuel efficiency has been very good. I expect it will get better over time.