New Toyota pump still has POA93

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Davethewave, Jul 2, 2022.

Tags:
  1. Davethewave

    Davethewave Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2020
    13
    6
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Inverter pump failed. I replaced with new Toyota pump. Coolant flows properly. No air in line. Inverter cool. Reset codes.
    Everything looks and operates properly...
    But it still has check eng with triangle.
    Code reads PAO93....
    I let sit till very cool. Disconnected battery. Still same error.
    Is there a thermal switch in inverter? Do they go bad? Can it be repaired?
    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    4,758
    4,068
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Which obd2 device and or app are you currently using to get DTC P0A93?
     
  3. Davethewave

    Davethewave Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2020
    13
    6
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Torque
     
  4. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    4,758
    4,068
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
  5. Davethewave

    Davethewave Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2020
    13
    6
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Thank you. Yes. I checked for fans,both work. Eng temp good. Coolant flow looks good. I bleed system no air bubbles. No indication of clogs or of build up of rust or other. Car has been maintained and is in excellent condition.
     
  6. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    4,758
    4,068
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    If memory serves, you should have additional warning lights being displayed for DTC P0A93.

    You've installed the gen2 PIDs for Torque?

    P0A93 has two related INFs or detailed codes. This may help in narrowing your focus a bit. Besides being able to report the INFs for various DTCs, techstream can help with diagnostics via the freeze frame data as well. There are other handhelds that may do the same.
    How long did it take for DTC P0A93 to reappear?
     
  7. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    2,055
    326
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I think it's the! That comes up anytime I get the red triangle and that! I can almost guarantee my water pump isn't running in the left fender well and when I go out to take a look and touch the top of my metal inverter it's quite warm sometimes I can turn the car off and turn it back on put my hand on the pump and it's running I've been through five or six like this. Now I've changed to a different pump that probably will never fail it's made for constant duty I guess
     
  8. Davethewave

    Davethewave Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2020
    13
    6
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    It has been two years since I loaded stuff into the Torque app. So I can't answer the pod question.
    The triangle is immediate.
    We drove the car about ten miles once triangle came up.
    The pump went out last year and car stopped running in short order. But after replacing pump all worked fine.
    This time I opted for expensive Toyota pump. And triangle never went away.
    Are there specific pids I need to look for/ down load? What does pid stand for?
     
  9. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    4,758
    4,068
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    If you have the pro version, then you may not need to load the vehicle specific PIDs.
    What speed were you driving at for 10 miles?
    How many times have you replaced the inverter coolant pump, and was this expensive pump purchase at a local dealership?
    There is a thread here, let me find it : Gen2 Prius: Custom PIDs for Torque (Android App) with formulas | PriusChat
    'Parameter IDs'
     
  10. Davethewave

    Davethewave Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2020
    13
    6
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Top speed driven probably 45+. I replaced first pump with cheap 30 dollar one. So today went to dealership. Was hopefully going to use this weekend.
    Just ordered the Autel 200. I was having connectivity issues with the Bafx.
    Of course the disappearing dash also happened today.
    I a have become a Prius geek and this has become my favorite driver.
     
    bisco likes this.
  11. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    2,055
    326
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    So are you waiting for the triangle to just disappear after you change the pump or do you reset the OBD2 system or what have you I've never waited for the triangle to go away after I replace the pump I just reset and clear the mess it's the only code I have generally and go to driving again as long as that pump stays on that triangle is not coming back for this code I don't know about the fans not running and all that nonsense in the in the workup for this code but generally I've got the car moving so quickly that fans don't matter we're going down the road 55 miles an hour with an open front end so we got plenty of air the rest of it is not plenty of water movement and I think I've solved that problem now with another pump that doesn't belong there The water will jump out of the tank.
     
  12. Davethewave

    Davethewave Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2020
    13
    6
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I followed what others have said about clearing codes. I wonder if I am doing that wrong? How do you do it?
     
  13. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    2,055
    326
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I have tech stream on a CF-19 Panasonic toughbook that I bought from a dealership that went out of business that is very cumbersome to all the time trying to be lugging around and using. I also own an Innova 3100 series handheld scanner available at Walmart . In most of my Toyotas the Innova scanner has been able to read most codes and ABS codes and clear those said codes so I use it a lot and if I have to deal with Prius specific codes then I'll log the tec stream out. On my other Toyotas I don't seem to need the tech stream very often only on the Prius. And with either one I just follow the prompts on the screen generally you can't have the engine running when you're clearing the code you got to have the car on and the scanner connected in your hand whatever and then you push the backwards button after you hit the clear the codes button and it will tell you to wait a minute and then it will tell you if the engine is off it was successful if the engine's running it may tell you that it can't clear the codes while the engine's running. You will see the triangle in the exclamation point turn off if you're watching the dash not your handheld then I generally unplug the handheld return the car off restart the car back out of the driveway I also hear my pump running I know if the pump's running the code for the inverter is not coming back on unless the fuse blows in other words if the pump is moving water it will never get too hot to set this code if the fuse blows I think it'll set the code regardless like the pump is burnt out.I have been through so many inverter pumps through every supplier and manufacturer I haven't had one last yet I'm scared to buy one from Toyota because usually when one or two factories are making this you're just buying the seconds or the ones that don't meet the top quality control tier maybe but all of them should not be failing like this this is ridiculous out of 10 I should get one or two that should last 5 years or something I'm along those lines out of the 5 or 7 that I've bought five have failed within 90 days oh they'll replace them all day long that's not a problem. Neither is changing them I just know that we can do better and I believe I have.
     
  14. Davethewave

    Davethewave Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2020
    13
    6
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    So. I decided to do the jumper 4 to 13 pump brakes, disconnected 12v battery. Then disconnected hv. Let it sit for at least 5 minutes.
    Reconnected.
    All warnings ,triangle,etc all gone.
    Thank you to so many that wanted to help.
    It really does mean a lot.
    Hopefully someday I can help and not just take. Thank you all once again.
     
    SFO and bisco like this.
  15. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    4,758
    4,068
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Not sure if the jumper or hv parts were needed, but the 12v disconnect generally is.
     
  16. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    2,055
    326
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Now driving the heat for 50 or 60 miles and see if everything is staying at temperature
     
  17. mr_guy_mann

    mr_guy_mann Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    1,965
    777
    0
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    It sure sounds like you went through the steps in the diagnostic procedure. It doesn't help that Toyota limited the testing to: check the inverter coolant and pump, check the radiator fans, - replace the inverter. No real info about what the ecu is actually seeing that leads it to set the code.

    If you have warning lights immediately then either the codes somehow didn't clear, OR you might have some type of hard failure in the inverter. I don't know if Torque has inverter temperature PIDs, or if you have to wait for the Autel AP200 (great tool for the $). I would want to check all the temperature readings for everything when the car is cold. MG's, inverters, ICE, all should read very close. If one is significantly off, that might be enough to throw a code.

    If you gave an android phone you could give the BAFX another try with the Hybrid Assistant app (this doesn't have code functions but does display quite a bit of data from the ICE and hybrid systems- including temperatures).

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  18. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    2,055
    326
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    If you can touch the inverter the bottom of it the middle of it where that hose on the bottom comes out not the hose out the plastic tank the one under it. If you can hold your hand on that area you're generally okay when it gets to the point that you can't hold your hand on that area you're starting to get on up there then I check my hoses on my pump for the inverter the input and the output hoses you know should be kind of close Waters just circulating around or it's not if it's not the hoses maybe dead cold and the inverter as hot as all get out the fluid in the jug is standing and the very bottom hose that goes into the bottom of the inverter will be quite warm Not a good situation.
     
Loading...