1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New TPMS not registering

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by 2007Touring160K, Nov 25, 2023.

  1. 2007Touring160K

    2007Touring160K New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2023
    16
    3
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Got 4 brand new tires (Michelin Denender T+H) and figured might as well replace the TPMS sensors so got 4 of those as well from Tire Rack.

    When they were installed the guy said that he can’t connect them to the car although his own scanner shows that they are working. Said they have that problem with Toyotas/Lexus and that I’ll have to go to the dealership.

    Read about someone doing it himself through a computer or something? Would not have even got new sensors if I knew it was gonna be like this.

    Any advice appreciated.
     
  2. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    7,246
    1,269
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    What's supposed to happen is you have this software from Toyota the tech stream You use that software and you must have the numbers of each of the four TPMS sensors and enter them in where each number will be found or they are on the car initially It's a real pain in the butt or it isn't but you have to do it just so and then that's that. There are some tire companies that make a tool that will basically turn the light off in most cars including a Prius I think and register the tire sensors just by the use of this reset wand I've seen the guy do it twice on two of my cars. Other than that you're sitting there with the Toyota software entering in these I don't know seven or eight digit numbers.
     
    2007Touring160K likes this.
  3. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    7,368
    3,722
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    As Tom said in his post above, you need to use Techstream (or an equally capable scan tool from Autel, Snap-On Xtool, etc) to enter the ID numbers from the new sensors. As long as you got the sensor IDs from the tire place you should be okay. If they do not have a record of them, you will need to get Tire Rack to (partially) remove each tire so the ID can be read from each sensor, which should have its ID on a label attached to the sensor. They may have a tool that can electronically read the sensor and get the code which would be a whole lot easier.
     
    2007Touring160K likes this.
  4. 2007Touring160K

    2007Touring160K New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2023
    16
    3
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Ok so Tire Rack sent me an email with 12 steps. I took the email to the tire shop and asked them if they followed the steps and they didn’t but said they can try and boom the light is off and they said it’s working! So I’m good !
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    7,246
    1,269
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Yeah the tire rack probably has the ATEQ tool and just didn't know what buttons to push
     
    Carall and 2007Touring160K like this.
  6. RadioBob

    RadioBob New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2023
    13
    1
    0
    Location:
    Pensacola
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    What do the sensors cost?
     
  7. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    7,246
    1,269
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    If you have a gen 2 Prius the sensors are made by the people that make your wheel hardware if you look on the back of your center cap you'll see the word Pacific You're looking for the green Pacific logoed TPMS sensors eBay sells them and in the pictures you can see the red and or the green Pacific logo with an information icon next to it and all that right on the wheel sensor that you'll buy instead of four should be about $44 green logo You may be able to use the red I don't know I just bought the exact same logo and brand that came out of my car when I took it apart.
     
    2007Touring160K likes this.
  8. wjtracy

    wjtracy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    11,304
    3,586
    1
    Location:
    Northern VA (NoVA)
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Well, *hopefully* problem solved. You can actually enter bogus codes, and this will temporarily turn off the TPMS light. It takes about 20-25 minutes of car running for the TPMS computer to figure out if fake or incorrect code numbers were entered (if no new tire pressure data is being generated). The light will come back in that case.
     
    #7 wjtracy, Nov 30, 2023
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2023
    2007Touring160K likes this.
  9. 2007Touring160K

    2007Touring160K New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2023
    16
    3
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Unbelievable yet totally believable…
     
  10. 2007Touring160K

    2007Touring160K New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2023
    16
    3
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    $40 a pop. I know eBay would have been cheaper but I didn’t want to take the chance of them not being able to program it which they kept warning me about.
     
  11. 2007Touring160K

    2007Touring160K New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2023
    16
    3
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    I’ve been driving it for way longer and it didn’t come back! So yeah I think I’m good. Just gonna raise the PSI and hit the reset button before I take off for my long 3 week road trip. First road trip ever and I’m going to Baja Mexico from LA. I have faith in my baby and my new Bosch pads rotors and new Michilin Defenders.
     
    wjtracy likes this.
  12. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    7,246
    1,269
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    At 160K that car is just broke in decently $3,000 or so Mile road trip shouldn't even bring up an oil change other than possibly bad roads in Mexico and debris in the road should be pretty uneventful although the grades in Mexico are pretty steep up and down all vehicles in Mexico are geared completely differently than their American counterparts It's wild when you get there and see it and drive it.
     
    2007Touring160K likes this.
  13. 2007Touring160K

    2007Touring160K New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2023
    16
    3
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Geared differently from the factory?
     
  14. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    7,246
    1,269
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Not your particular Prius but vehicle sold in Mexico are geared quite differently for Mexico road driving lower gearing It got lots of hills and lots of dirt road The Nissan trucks that are sold there my buddy lives there and has four Nissan trucks He brought one here to America It is completely geared differently it'll barely run on the highway here or your turning so many RPMs going 70 miles an hour that you will slow down or you're just used to doing that sort of thing and you're okay with it The same truck from Nissan sold in the USA and in Europe well there's like the one you buy at the dealership here in the States that may or may not be so with passenger cars not totally sure but with trucks it very much is so My buddy took his 250 series truck down to Mexico came straight back with it too He said he was in low gear 80% of the time.