1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

new vs old, any way to upgrade the option package?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by cjcathey2002, Aug 22, 2007.

1. cjcathey2002

cjcathey2002 New Member

Hey everyone,

I am new to the prius world, as my roommate just bought one in april. She bought new and already has over 12k on it. I also do a lot of driving, averaging around 500-550 miles a week. So the prius is looking very attractive right now. However i am still a little leary on buying a brand new vehicle as i have always bought used. I see a lot of nice Prius' selling for decent prices in the southern california area. But i must admit riding around in my roommate fully loaded version has me seeking out the navi, and blue-tooth features. Is there any way to add these features to a Prius that did not come set up initially for it? Is it even worth it, or would it be cost prohibitive? It seems like the general numbers for MPG is right around 50, which is more than double the 23 mpg i am getting now. Thanks for your help, and with any luck ill be in one of these by Christmas!!!

chris

2. Bill Merchant

Bill Merchant absit invidia

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Hi cjcathey, welcome to PriusChat! It's very difficult to upgrade "package" options with Toyota gear. You could always buy third-party GPS and Bluetooth accessories for a Prius model that didn't come with those options, but the wiring harnesses in that car wouldn't support a Toyota nav or Bluetooth upgrade. The Prius is a great car, as most here will agree, but upgrades to a particular model are pretty limited.

But don't be tempted to buy more car than you can afford. Get what you can now, and save your gas money for a new model in a few years that has lithium batteries and plugs in to recharge... :)

3. PriusOwner004

PriusOwner004 New Member