1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New winter wheels or work on old ones?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Johnsmith009, May 13, 2019.

1. Johnsmith009

Johnsmith009 Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    My winter tires are kind of crap. They're rusted black steel and I believe cheap tire? I think they performed pretty poorly this winter, but I'm no expert.

I tried fixing up the rust and after maybe 3h with a drill and steel brush I got most of it off, except for the entire outer rim since the brush can't reach. At this point I'm planning on giving it to professionals because it honestly seems like beyond my area of expertise since they look horrible, maybe it'll be better when painted.

Someone told me it'd be cheaper to buy new rims except, mounting tires looks pretty hard. Would it be better to just buy whole new wheels?

2. Salamander_King

Salamander_King Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    An aftermarket steel wheel for Gen3 or Gen4 size are ~$50 each. You may find cheaper ones if you look for used, but usually if they have to ship them, you won't be saving much. If your winter tires need to be replaced soon, you can price tires and wheels as a set. Most on-line tire place have free mounting and balancing. Sometimes alloy wheels on sale are cheaper than steely. Check Discount Tires online, I bought my alloy wheels and Michelin Xice snow tires as set for less than $500 total including installation hardware, mounting, balancing and shipping.

Edit: Whoops, I see you are in Canada. I am not sure Discount Tires will ship to Canada. You may have to source on-line or local tire shops for your local.

#2 Salamander_King, May 13, 2019
    Last edited: May 13, 2019
  3. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring