1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newb with wheel questions..

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by LOWRCO2, Sep 4, 2007.

1. LOWRCO2

LOWRCO2 New Member

I'm a newb to this forum and have a few questions. My 2008 #2 will be here next week, so I am told. What do you guys do to correct for different wheel/rim/tire sizes? I had a Dodge Charger R/T and all I had to do with it was use my Superchips programmer to change tire/wheel size. I like the Kazera KZV's 17" but I don't want the speedo to be off, and the mpg readout to be affected. What do you guys use to correct for this? Any help greatly appreciated, thanks Josh!

2. JimN

JimN Let the games begin!

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(LOWRCO2 @ Sep 4 2007, 08:59 PM) [snapback]507024[/snapback]</div>
    I can't help, but welcome to the site.

3. auricchio

auricchio Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    In more than a year here, I have never seen anyone being able to reprogram the car to compensate for nonstandard tire/wheel sizes.

Everyone just tries to choose a tire close to the Goodyear Integrity's 855 revs per mile.

4. apriusfan

apriusfan New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Rick Auricchio @ Sep 4 2007, 06:51 PM) [snapback]507058[/snapback]</div>
    The 855 revs/mile specification is not too hard to find. Here are some examples:

1. 205/45-17 Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2 - 856 revs/mile
    2. 199/55-16 Michelin Alpin PA2 - 852 revs/mile
    3. 205/50-16 Michelin Alpin PA2 - 863 revs/mile

And, my personal favorite:
    4. 205/60-15 Michelin Pilot Exalto A/S - 850 revs/mile

Admittedly, I am biased toward Michelin tires; but other brands have similar offerings that are close to the 855 revs/mile.

5. sfbmw

sfbmw New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I am told the goodyear assurance are a much better tire.

6. carolb777

carolb777 New Member