1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie (be gentle!): How do I wax my baby?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by tarapup, Mar 21, 2008.

1. tarapup

tarapup Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    all. I'm a newbie. http://priuschat.com/forums/newbie-forum/44417-just-picked-up-my-08-metallic-grey-yesterday.html

Please be gentle. I'm usually a "go to the wash, tell them what I want, and wait" kind o'girl. But with this car, I plan to try to handle it myself.

Okay, at least for now. :p

I have all the products...I'm prepared. But I don't have the WAX or a clear coat protectant kind o'deal.

Your recommendations and experience, please?

Thanks, Mary

2. barbaram

barbaram Active Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Check out the ZAINO threads!
    Best stuff I've ever used and very easy!!!!!:cheer2:

3. Bill Merchant

Bill Merchant absit invidia

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    I agree with Barbara M. Zaino is amazing. You won't believe how your car can gleam, and it smells good!

4. longrider

longrider soxfan

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    I'll 3rd on the Zaino products. That's all I use on my Corvette. It's not a wax, but a polish and boy does it work. Some people find the instructions a little confusing but I highly recommend it. I'll never use wax again.
    No matter what you decide, you'll want to start out by "claying" your cars finish. It's very easy to do and the clay bar will pull surface contaminants out of the paint so you have a nice clean surface to shine up. I think McGuire's and Griot's websites actually have videos you can watch to see how it works.

5. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
  6. rigormortis

rigormortis Active Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    your probably going to get a lot of responses and plugs for zaino