1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie - checking hybrid battery and other items via OBDII

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by wanderso, Jul 15, 2018.

1. wanderso

wanderso Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Hello - brand new to owning a hybrid. Go easy on me. :) I'm an IT guy by trade, some auto repair experience. Just purchased a 2006 Prius, 82k miles, one owner car, clean title, have the CarFax, excellent shape, Portland, Oregon area, all repairs done at a local Toyota dealership. I have 5 days to keep the car (Honda new car dealer return option; prior owner purchased a brand new Honda Clarity). The Honda dealer did an inspection on the vehicle before sale, but did not test the hybrid battery. Good local mechanics with Toyota Hybrid knowledge are booked up at present.

I'm wanting to see if I will be out the $$ for a battery soon as that factors into my 5 day "keep or return" decision. I know it is a 13 year old car and expect a hybrid and starting battery purchase is on the horizon, but would like to put that off for a couple of years if there are any indications that I have some life left in the battery. I knew the replacement need coming into this Hybrid world. :) The starting battery in the trunk appears to be original as far as I can tell.

In any case, I'm hoping for some quick advice for the best option for me to purchase overnight via Amazon for what I need to check out additional detail on:

*Current health of the hybrid battery
    *Any other trouble codes that may not have triggered a check engine light
    *Other items that you recommend I should check in this 5 day window that I have.