1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie checking in

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Lcruiser, Mar 31, 2007.

1. Lcruiser

Lcruiser Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Hi All,

I am looking to buy a new 2007 or slightly used Prius. Gas price $3.50 really convince me to get one now, and wanting to save the world :). I am suprised that even used 2005 or 2006 model demand close to $25K. Yikes!

I used to own 2003 Toyota Matrix, and I miss it very much! :( I currently drive Acura Legend, and (don't flame on me) LX 450 for camping and a little bit for snow trip :D. I hardly drive that beast anyway.

PS: I studied Environmental Economic when I was in College. :)

2. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    hello and welcome to PriusChat!

I would try for a new Prius if your budget allows since you will be eligible for tax credits (used cars aren't).

You'll find a wealth of information on this site so do search and hopefully the search function will be kind enough and produce some results (if not, be a little creative as it can be stubborn at times).

And ask away!

3. tumbleweed

tumbleweed Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Wow, if an '05 costs that much I would buy a new one. You don't have to get it in California, all Prius sold in any state meet California emission requirements. If you have time and don't mind taking a trip shop around a bit, I know you could buy a new one here (Eastern Oregon or Washington) for under MSRP. Might be fun to go somewhere and drive home in your new car?

I would also suggest looking at the Honda Civic Hybrid. The hybrid system is not as sophisticated as the Prius HSD but it still provides good economy in a good dependable machine.

4. Lcruiser

Lcruiser Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius