1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie here, Prius advice needed

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by gedebage, Sep 24, 2010.

1. gedebage

gedebage New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi All
    I am in the UK and am seriously considering buying a 2007/8 Tspirit.
    I have read many reviews on Prius and many are somewhat negative saying that owning a small diesel is more economical, however when I read Prius owner reviews most seem to be very happy with the car.

I now drive an X type Jaguar, so a Prius will be a complete learning curve for me.

One thing that concerns me is the battery life. I believe it is very expensive to replace, also will the car be up to high motorway speeds without thrashing the engine? Your thoughts and comments are much appreciated. Thanks.:)

2. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    It is possible to get such a tiny diesel that you get better economy, diesels with similar power to the Prius will have very similar economy.

About 1 battery in 40,000 dies before 100,000 miles. I am unclear what options you will have in the UK, in the US, they retail new for $2300 USD and there are battery rebuilders selling for $1400 USD. Ebay has used batteries for $500 USD.

I am also vague on how fast a 'motorway' is, my Prius is turning about 1700 RPM* at 61 MPH, (98 km/h) 2200 RPM* at 71 MPH. (114 km/h)

*average, the engine computer adjusts constantly, there is no fixed RPM to MPH relationship.

1 person likes this.
  3. andyprius

andyprius Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    The engine is quite fast, from a start and midrange. Perhaps not comparable to a Jag tho. But, the Prius is a mid-size, extreme economy car.

1 person likes this.
  4. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A