1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

newbie here...recommend for high mileage driver

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by parhead, Feb 1, 2011.

1. parhead

parhead New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hi everyone. I new here.
    Anyway, I have a couple of questions and would like your input:
    1) would you recommend a Prius to a high mileage driver? I put on about 30-40,000 miles per year. I've read posts of people replacing the battery after 80,000 miles and others over 200,000 miles. Im just looking for some additional thoughts and opinions/

2) Barcelona Red 2010 Prius II...22,000 miles...$18,994 (before negotiations)...in Ohio.
    at what price should I be able to get this car? (there are 2 listed from two different dealers at basically the same mileage and price). Thoughts and recommendations....?

Thank you.

2. ksstathead

ksstathead Active Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    1) YES! 5-6 cents per mile for gas, oil changes every 10,000 miles (2010 forward), no belts of any kind (2010 forward), brake service approximately never, generally low operating and maintenance costs. Just rotate the tires.

If these are highway miles, you could look also at a HCH or a Hyundai Sonata (or Hybrid) or Elantra, or Ford Fusion Hybrid. Sonata has more passenger room, but the prius hatch is pretty nice for cargo other than sheet material.

2) No help here...

3. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I drive 30,000 miles a year, minimum of 55 miles on a 55 MPH road each way every work day. Once the Prius warms up, mileage is wonderful. I am over 55,000 miles so far I have done oil change and tire rotation at Toyota's schedule and one each engine and cabin air filter. The original tires went about 53,000 miles.