1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

newbie: "maintenance due soon"

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by teachergal, Sep 28, 2023.

1. teachergal

teachergal Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2019 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Sudden newbie here: ( my 2000 Rav 4 blew a head gasket and I bought this 2019 Prius used, so no manuals. )

Does the screen warning 'maintenance due soon' just mean it's time for an oil change?

2. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes. If you don't have the service history, it's probably a good idea to change it anyway.

3. FuelMiser

FuelMiser Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    You can download manuals from the Toyota Owners Website by registering with your VIN. You might even see some previous maintenance records as long the previous owner recorded them. This would also be a good time to change the owner’s registration to be able to receive Safety Updates/Recalls when they are published.

Now on to your specific question: Not sure what the RAV4 maintenance schedule is, but for the Prius, Toyota recommends “maintenance” every 5,000 miles; so, they have implemented the “maintenance due soon” reminder to come on every 5,000 miles since the light was last reset. This is a pure miles counter, there is no “smart” oil life monitor, and it can be reset from the steering wheel buttons.

The problem you have is that you do not know what was done the last time the light was reset. Perhaps you have a CARFAX report with the most recent oil change. Often a selling dealer will do an oil service when they put the car up for sale. If you can determine when the oil was last changed, you can ignore the light for now as long as you are within Toyota’s recommended oil change intervals.