1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie needs help with HID headlights

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Jay Hare, Jan 12, 2015.

1. Jay Hare

Jay Hare New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    V

This is the second Prius that I've owned and absolutely love these cars and cannot see myself owning anything else.

Two years ago I purchased a used 2007 Prius with the HID headlights. I recently replaced them and the ballasts. For the past two weeks they have been working great but this past weekend the passenger side headlight stopped working. I checked the 15 amp fuses and the fuse for the light was indeed blown. I replaced it but the fuse continues to blow every time I turn the lights on. Also something weird is going on with the fog lights. When I hit the high beams the fog lights go out.

In full disclosure I replaced these headlights myself. I have basic mechanic knowledge which means I can tackle minor repairs on most cars. I researched the job on YouTube and was very careful when replacing the parts. I'm thinking that there is a wire arcing somewhere or maybe something unrelated going on despite the recent repair.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Crant

Crant New Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    This may already be obvious but it sounds like a short and you may need to trace the entire path of the voltage to the headlight.

3. WilDavis

WilDavis Senior Member

Top RH Corner of RH Coast on L side of The Pond
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II