1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie - Prepurchase questions

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by rajatkp, Oct 29, 2010.

1. rajatkp

rajatkp Junior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello All,

I am a newbie looking to buy a 2009 Toyota Prius in the next one week. Have been driving a 2002 Subaru Impreza and have clocked 160k miles in 5 yrs. I commute ~500-600 miles a week and 25-30k miles a year. I live in Rochester, NY which has 100 inches of snow in winter.

Overall I had read very good things about the car. My questions are on tires -

1. Appears that the Prius needs new tires every 25-30k miles. That means I will be buying new tires every year which will more than offset any savings I see on gas. What has been the experience of other Prius users ?

- what tire brands would you recommend ? tire care ?

2. Does MPG go down in winter compared to summer ? Typically by how much ?

Thanks in advance!

2. JimboK

JimboK One owner, low mileage

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    1) It depends to a great extent on the tires. I got about 30K miles on the stock Goodyears, which is pretty typical based on reports here. I replaced them with Michelin Hydroedges, which have 50K miles on them now and still are going strong. A better tire gives the added benefit of better traction in snow. Keep them inflated to the maximum sidewall pressure for optimal life.

2) Yes. (In any car.) For my driving conditions, which is about 90% in-town, I figure about a 15-20% decrease in winter. Assuming a substantial portion of yours is on the highway, the difference likely will be less -- assuming a snow-free ride.

1 person likes this.
  3. JimboK

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius