1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie Q: should I really drive under 55mph for the first 500miles?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by liquidice63, Mar 18, 2008.

1. liquidice63

liquidice63 New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Hi. I just got my Prius over the weekend. The dealer told me to keep it at/under 55mph for the first 500 miles.

I have a long commute on the freeway everyday. Monday I try to follow his speed suggestion, but all these cars either pass me up or tailgate really really close.

I was wondering if I should exceed this speed. would it be bad for the car in the future?
    Sorry might be a simple question, but it's my first time "breaking in" a new car

2. wb9tyj

wb9tyj 2017 Prius Prime Advanced

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    The dealer is feeding you a line of @#$%^...to start with you really don't need to break the car in...that's old school thought ...just vary your speeds in normal driving...if you do 70, then do 50, then do 30, then 75...that's fine...
    just drive with the flow and don't worry about it...also...if you haven't already...get your tire pressures up to 42psi front and 40psi back...and you will be just fine...

3. Bill Merchant

Bill Merchant absit invidia

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Hi liquidice63. The idea is to NOT just get on the flat open highway and set the cruise control so the ICE runs at a constant speed. Since you have no direct control over when the ICE turns on and how fast it runs, don't worry. Commuting has enough slow-and-fast driving. Try not to do any sudden braking (always good advice) for the first 600 miles or so; that gives the brake pads time to match to the microgrooves on the front disk brakes.

Mostly, just enjoy!

4. richard schumacher

richard schumacher shortbus driver

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Summary: don't drive like a maniac in the first 600 miles.