1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie Qs for Smacking New 05 Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by Uncle GroOve, Dec 5, 2005.

1. Uncle GroOve

Uncle GroOve New Member

Hello folks.
    Swiss newbie here, freshly engaged to his silver '05 Prius since saturday :D

Fine group you are, really. I have enjoyed reading through many informative posts over here.

My main Q concerns the way in which the HVD switches in ("flickers"?) every now and then.
    From what I've gleamed, it is not advisable to discharge the battery (unless where really needed) so it does not make any sense to see it "flicker" in action every now and then.
    1) Why does this happen?
    2) Is there any way to "tune" the programming so the overall system performance is more in sync with my main driving conditions (some highway, local roads, congested traffic, appx. 56 km / day)? My aim is to have more main battery available when I'm driving in congested traffic

Just another Q re. best strategy to optimize EV usage when driving in slow traffic:
    Is it better to inch along (in EV mode) or to wait for a gap to form in front and then engage in a "kick-and-glide" thing?
    I've realized that the main battery is drained pretty quickly - especially when approaching the threshold speed of 45 kph / 28mph.

TIA

Uncle GroOve

2. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Uncle Groove,
    As to the second part of your question I think it all depends upon how slow the traffic is and the likelyhood that it will pick up soon. Frankly, I usually go ahead and hit my EV button and see how far I can go on that. Once it's drained then the car will do it's own thing anyway. If traffic where you live is patient enough to allow you to open a km or so gap then 'kick-and-glide' probably is pretty efficient. 'Round these parts that'll get your butt kicked!