Newbie Question ScanGaugeII Pros/Cons Where do you Mount ?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by ThePriusMan.com, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. ThePriusMan.com

    ThePriusMan.com Waiting for my Prius

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    112
    7
    0
    Location:
    Portland Oregon - No Global Warming Here!
    Model:
    II
    Hi All

    I'm a Newbie here, and As soon as I sell my house (Hopefully) I will have enough to get a Blizzard Pearl Prius II (I can't see going above II personally) and I think the Extra $220 is worth it.. Car will be cooler interior and thus less fuel used.

    I've been looking at all the Mods etc. (I love the Post on the Fog Lights BTW I definately want to do that. I've decieded on a California POP Top Cover (Cheaper than the other interior ones)

    Some kind of Stering wheel cover and seat covers.
    (I wish I would have had Seat covers on my other car I tend to wear them out.)

    Going to get a Holder for my laptop and a use a USB GPS and Microsoft Streets and Trips software)

    I don't know what floor mats I want, Stock or Dirt ones..

    I definatly Want the Bumper Guard.

    OK on Topic now... ScanGaugeII

    I don't know how (No offense) anal I am, to get a ScanGaugeII I can see it does a lot, but I can use a calculator?

    Pro's on buying this? or just a personal preference?

    The main thing is where do you put it? The dash of the Prius Even without Nav is sparse for putting things.

    So do you just Wire it to a gove box or the center console? or do you mount it? If you mount it on dash if you could post pictures I'd love it.

    And if anyone knows where I can get clean Wheel covers (Pizza pans) without Drilling?

    I'd love to know..
    Thanks in advance...
    Russ Grover - No Prius yet, but in my dreams...
     
  2. macman408

    macman408 Electron Guidance Counselor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    1,179
    359
    1
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I got one; it's useful if you're trying to get the best mileage out of your car, because you can get information like battery amps or engine temperature. So far, there's no way to get some other useful info available on the previous gen though, like SoC. Plus, there's no magic "do this now!" mode to tell you the best way to drive - you have to read forums and test things out to figure that out.

    Mine is mounted behind the steering wheel so that I can see it between the wheel portion and the center hub. There's a fairly flat piece of dash right there. I strung the cable through the gap between the steering wheel and the dash, and then it can exit slightly behind the OBD port near my shins. Others have mounted it elsewhere, like near the front quarter window. A google search will net you lots of discussions on this topic.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. ThePriusMan.com

    ThePriusMan.com Waiting for my Prius

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    112
    7
    0
    Location:
    Portland Oregon - No Global Warming Here!
    Model:
    II
    Thanks Mac

    I'll wait on that mod for now, and when I find someone with one. I'll check it out..
    (I'm adding up all the stuff I want to get with a new car and it's ADDING UP) LOL

    Thanks
    Russ
     
  4. phoenixgreg

    phoenixgreg Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    1,157
    281
    66
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I read somewhere here that the latest Scangauges do not have all the required programming yet for Gen III Prius. I was going to get one, but decided against the $170 price until the programming is complete. There are also similar devices that have built-in NAV but those were close to $700. Way more expensive than I want to go! I just wish those of us with package II could see the health of the 12 volt battery and maybe the engine temp.
     
  5. macman408

    macman408 Electron Guidance Counselor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    1,179
    359
    1
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    The ScanGauge will work to show you 12V battery voltage and engine temperature as-is. It will not work for a few things, like setting the headlight-off timing or viewing the traction battery SoC, since the Gen III uses a slightly different protocol than the ScanGauge normally uses for these measurements.

    All in all, the SG generally has most of the things you'd want to see, and I'm not sure I've seen any info that they'll be adding anything new and different to it.

    That said, you can get a measurement on the 12V battery with a multimeter, which will probably be more accurate, and definitely less expensive. Not that doing so really gives you a terribly good indicator of the health of the battery.
     
  6. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    15,420
    8,691
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Have you reviewed the ScanGauge XGauge codes that were posted here months ago? Very many items have already been figured out.

    And don't pay $170 elsewhere, when you can pay a bit less and support either this site or another fuel efficiency site.
     
  7. royrose

    royrose Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    1,308
    872
    4
    Location:
    Foot of Pikes Peak
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Here is how I mounted mine. Definitely worth it in my opinion.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. phoenixgreg

    phoenixgreg Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    1,157
    281
    66
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Yes, I think I read that spreadsheet, but what I meant was that ScangaugeII should come that way from the factory. Oh, I was only quoting the non-Prius site price I found when I went to the
    Scangauge website.

    BTW, here's the other device one of our members was going to try. It's very expensive if you buy it with the NAV feature:
    DashDAQ - Features
     
  9. Prius42

    Prius42 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    139
    41
    9
    Location:
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
  10. Whatis224

    Whatis224 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    20
    3
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    i like that steering wheel mount! blendmount also makes a mount for above the rear view mirror.

    http://www.amazon.com/BlendMount-Designed-for-ScanGauge-II/dp/B001EO0YZ2
     
  11. sti-nkr

    sti-nkr Prius Ricer

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    45
    4
    0
    Location:
    Tyler, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
  12. Rokeby

    Rokeby Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    3,033
    707
    75
    Location:
    Ballamer, Merlin
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    That unit looks really cool, but...

    Just to prevent unpleasant surprises, the Prius is not listed in the
    Vehicle Compatability List. :mad:

    That would leave experiences in other vehicles... :)
     
  13. Joe166

    Joe166 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    720
    96
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    V
    They do. It is a real pain to make work and the scangauge is kind of obtrusive there. I have one but I don't think I will use it. I have taken it off for now.
     
  14. sti-nkr

    sti-nkr Prius Ricer

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    45
    4
    0
    Location:
    Tyler, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Turns out a buddy of mine has one. I'm going to test it out on my car maybe tomorrow. I'll post up what I find. If it doesnt work scangauge is cheaper.
     
  15. robby3

    robby3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    181
    24
    0
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    The Greddy Informeter Touch works great on any Prii. The Greddy site states to select ISO CAN for Gen III and my installation in our Prius today prooves this. Comes with a great stand also. Installation was done within a minute, plug in the OBD connector and select the communication, that's it. If one wants to have power displayed too enter the cars weight and displacement. Will post pics tomorrow in another thread.

    - Rob
     
Loading...