1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie Question

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Taath, Jul 26, 2006.

1. Taath

Taath New Member

Hello all,
    I am very new to the Prius. Just got my 2006 a few days ago. I apologize for the nature of the question, as I am sure it will be quite elementary to those of you with more experience. Simply stated, I've noticed the battery level as shown on the MFD seems to fluctuate quite regularly, going up and down rather quickly. I was unsure if this was normal or not. Other than that, I love the car to death and have really enjoyed reading many posts on the forum, of particular interest to me is the EV switch posts, and I am quite tempted to get the mod. Thank you in advance for your responses.

Thank you,
    Taath

2. Betelgeuse

Betelgeuse Active Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Well, what's your definition of "rather quickly"? Remember that the car *uses* the battery to help get you the best fuel economy possible. This means that the battery charge will go up and down as you drive. This is just a normal part of how the car works. Certainly if the battery indicator goes up or down by 1 or 2 bars in the course of normal driving, that's completely normal. I've found that, often, when I'm getting up to highway speeds it will drop several bars. But that's to be expected; it's using the battery to help you accelerate.

If it went from the top (i.e. 8 bars) to the bottom (i.e. 1 bar) in 30 seconds or something, then I'd be concerned. Otherwise, just drive it and enjoy it! :)

3. galaxee

galaxee mostly benevolent

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    no worries, that's perfectly normal. the strength of the hybrid system is in actually using the battery (both to power the car and store excess energy), so it is actually very good! :)

4. tripp

tripp Which it's a 'ybrid, ain't it?

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius