1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie Question

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by try2hard, May 24, 2007.

1. try2hard

try2hard New Member

Hello ladies and gentlemen! I am new to the form and also new to the Prius. I haven't bought one yet (still saving up some money and getting my finances in line, LOL) It will for sure be my next car though. I am planning on buying within the next 3 months or so.

Anyway, just one quick question for all of you experts: Up to what speed will the Prius (2nd. gen (2007)) go with only the electric motor? Can it go up to 25 MPH so that you can go through city streets on only electric (providing you have enough battery power)?

Any help in answering this question would be greatly appreaciated!

Thanks,

Nick :D

2. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Yes, it can do that. When the engine kicks on depends on load and the state of the battery. When you get up to about 40 mph the engine has to turn, whether it is running or not, in order to limit the speed of one of the motor/generators. It is quite common to glide along at 25 or so with only the electric running, but not for long distances. The controller will quickly decide that it makes more sense to run the engine than pull power from the battery, and the engine will start.

Tom

3. ny biker

ny biker Member

Vehicle:
    2022 Prius
    Model:
    XLE
    It also depends on the terrain. If you're going uphill, you're probably going to need the engine. But flats and downhill, not so much.

4. tiger roach

tiger roach New Member

I find for sustaining a steady speed, I can be just over 40 and it will go all-electric for a while. To accelerate though, even at modest school-zone speeds it takes a very steady foot and lots of patience to stay electric. Not recommended unless you are the only car in sight.

5. Danny Hamilton

Danny Hamilton Active Member

Vehicle: