1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie questions about the c from a non-hybrid driver

Discussion in 'Prius c Main Forum' started by mnaf, May 2, 2012.

1. mnaf

mnaf Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    I apologize in advance for the long-winded post...
    I'm looking for a more fuel efficient vehicle for commutes in order to save some money.
    To consider a Prius is a big step for me - I've been a life long rabid racing and performance car fan and would rather move way up (in HP and performance) from my 2000 Maxima 5spd, but I'm driving a lot of miles and just can't ignore the potential $$ gas savings. Going "back" to a compact car feels like taking a couple steps back (started with a Datsun 210....Tercel....). I have no hybrid experience except for driving (and kind of enjoying) a friend's 2007 Prius for 400 mi. a few years ago. But there's also something strangely very....."comforting".....in the thought of a 475+ mile cruising range in a vehicle with a 9.5 gal tank......

My driving is about 950hwy, 500city miles a month; hwy speed is 70-75mph, 72 a solid average. My intent is to drive the c the same way and as a "normal" car while maybe occasionally playing the mpg game for fun. But, really, hwy cruising w/ cruise control at 72 would be the norm for 52 mile commutes (AC on depending on season). (Does the engine continuously run high rpms to maintain these hwy speeds?)
    I just want to drive it quickly and get much better mpg than the 23/24 combined I'm currently getting (hopefully double it?).