1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Newbie questions on headlights and XM

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by CEguru, Oct 26, 2006.

1. CEguru

CEguru New Member

Hi gang,

I'm a newbie. Just purchased last night. 2007 Pkg 5 in Barcelona Red. Got it for $1,600 off MSRP without any haggling. I was suprised how easy it was. Anyway, first question: the Prius doesn't have the auto on/off headlights like I'm used to, but it does have auto off lights. Wondering if I can just always leave them set to ON and let it turn itself off when the car is shut off. Does anyone else do this? Any downside? Second question: is there any real difference between the XM radio you'd buy from the Toyota part department and one of the units from, say, FactoryInteractive?

Thanks in advance.

J

2. chimohio

chimohio New Member

From what I remember the manual says you can leave the lights in the ON position and they will turn on and off with the car. They also say that you shouldn't leave it like that without running the car for a week as it does something to the battery.
    Can't answer about XM as I don't have it.

3. mootsman

mootsman New Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(CEguru @ Oct 26 2006, 05:43 PM) [snapback]338879[/snapback]</div>
    They are all Toyota units if they are to work with the MFD. I bought mine from our Toyota dealer at the same price as the aftermarket guys....and then paid a local installer $45 for the installation. Total cost was around $340 if memory serves.

4. PA

PA Member

Vehicle:
    2019 Prius
    Model:
    LE
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(CEguru @ Oct 26 2006, 05:43 PM) [snapback]338879[/snapback]</div>
    I suppose another downside would be burning out your bulbs sooner and wasting power running headlights during the day when you don't need them ... not sure why you'd want to do that.