1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Next Car - New Prius

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by car compulsive, Aug 7, 2011.

1. car compulsive

car compulsive Active Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I drank the Kool-Ade and it looks like I'll be buying a new Prius to replace an 07 Subaru Outback as a 2nd daily driver. Gen III appears to be a good car and it makes economic sense. I figure driving a Prius instead of the Subaru and boosting my miles in that car to half of the 27K I drive annually, I'll save about $100 a month in gas alone. (Primary daily driver is an 05 LS430 with which I average 24.5 MPG - so I'm no hot rodder.)

Background: I'm a healthcare IT consultant in my mid-50s. My wife is disabled and doesn't drive. (Brain injury in 1996 caused by a horse accident. She also recently had a successful battle with breast cancer.) We're empty nesters and have a couple of wonderful caregivers that work with my wife during the week and will be occasionally driving the Prius to take her to appointments, go to lunch, etc.

The Subaru has to go because it is a) uncomfortable for me to drive long distances and b) has become difficult for the caregivers to transfer my wife from her wheelchair into the car. The older Outbacks have frameless windows so there's no place for her to grab when standing beside the car. I'll miss the Subaru AWD system in the winter, but I've driven RWD and FWD cars in Michigan winters for decades and am still around to tell about it.