1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Nikon D200 is out!

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by efusco, Dec 16, 2005.

1. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    [​IMG]

The Nikon D200 hit the stores today. My local dealer got in 5 and I was #3 on their list. Very sweet camera. Haven't had a chance to formally test it yet, but my preliminary first 10 shots (about half with the Nikkor 10.5mm/2.8 DX fish-eye I couldn't resist picking up) look darn nice.

It's also nice that this camera has/does 99% of what I want for a solid $3000 less than the D2x.

2. bigdaddy

bigdaddy Member

I am new to the whole DSLR thing, got a Canon Digital Rebel XT for (early) christmas gift, and a couple of lenses. Never had an SLR, and am upgrading from el-cheapo 3.1 megapixel kodak. I am totally blown away however. I'm sure the Nikon is a great camera too, but Canon has some good rebates and I got about $1500 worth of gear for about $1000, kind of the right price point for where I'm at on the photography food chain. I am going to get one more lens, so I'll have more invested in Glass than body, so I guess that means I'm locked into Canon for the foreseeable future.... What did you use to shoot your avatar?

3. efusco

Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Avatar was with the Nikon D70 SLR and a 17-35/2.8 zoom at 17mm.

4. maggieddd

maggieddd Senior Member

I got Canon 20D and I must say it's awesome, but would really like to have 5D now. Well maybe 1Ds Mark II would be even nicer just can't justify the price for just a hobby :)
    I've been buying lenses playing with them and when I figure out that I don't use one too often I sell it for almost the same price I bought it. Not bad. It's fun to try them out

5. bigdaddy

bigdaddy Member