1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

no liability for drug makers?

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by hyo silver, Jul 21, 2013.

1. hyo silver

hyo silver Awaaaaay

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    In a recent US Supreme Court case, drug companies were ruled exempt from lawsuits. I'm no lawyer, and have no desire to be one, so perhaps some of you with more legal education and experience can explain this ruling. To me, it seems completely crazy.

2. rufaro

rufaro WeePoo, Gen II

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I am speechless with shock. This one has definitely flown under the radar...VERY scary.

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    the ruling makes sense, in that the fda is 'supposed' to watchdog the pharma mfg. and testing. but we all know that government agencies are at best a second line of defense and can't be relied on for total safety. also. another seemingly sensible part of the decision is that the ruling only covers generic makers, which assumes that the name brand has been thoroughly tested beyond a shadow of a doubt. again, not enough protection. while we all hope gov. agencies can protect us from harm, i think the left leaning court blew this one. and so does senator leahy (d) from vt. on a good note, there are going to be a lot of unemployed lawyers in the near future.

4. FL_Prius_Driver

FL_Prius_Driver Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Here is one point I think about. What if a critical vaccine has a small number of adverse effects in some individuals?

5. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    they cannot sue if it's generic. if it's name brand, they're good to go.

6. FL_Prius_Driver

FL_Prius_Driver Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I