1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

No start, no nothing!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Martinf, Feb 20, 2024.

1. Martinf

Martinf New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    SE
    Hi all,
    New here and new to Prius (tho I'm a subaru mechanic).

My daughter has a 2008 and she's stranded. She said she went to start her car that the fob won't do anything...no door lock unlock (fortunately the door wasn't locked, no lights, no start. Dead.

I thought maybe it was the battery bad in the key fob so she put a new one in, but still nothing.

She's in Seattle and I'm 3 hours away, so I can't diagnose. Any suggestions as what to try to fix or further diagnose would be greatly appreciated.

I guess I'd start with the 12v battery...I suppose it could be dead...but that conepletly dead as to do absolutely nothing seems weird to me as she drove it last night (tho, she did say that it felt like the fob has been a little irratic lately)
    Thanks for any assistance.

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    There is a keyslot in the dash, just plug the keyfob into the slot and it should start.

If it doesn’t start, then you probably have a drained 12v battery. Just need a jump start

3. Martinf

Martinf New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    SE
    Tried the keyslot...nada. not even dome lights or engaging door locks. So you would think 12v battery, but seems weird that it would just go so completely dead overnight.

I'll get over there, jump and then take a charging volt measurement. If that's above 13, I guess I'll just assume the battery failed and replace it. Thanks.

4. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    The battery can drain if a light was left on. Also if the battery is old and weak, it would even drain faster.