1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

non-JBL sound system / stereo upgrade

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by lazysheep, May 12, 2008.

1. lazysheep

lazysheep New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    i've searched, but i may ask some common questions. so please bare with me, as i'm not an audio expert.

i'm ordering a package 2 prius tomorrow and i already know i want to upgrade the stereo. i listened to 1 at the dealer and it just sounded horrible. i'm not a huge audiophile so i don't need a 1200W system with 2 12" woofers. i just want a system with clean and clear sound and decent bass. i know i don't want a subwoofer, so car-shaking bass is not a requirement. here's what i'm thinking:

budget = 300 - 400

option 1:

keep factory radio/cd player. this means i will need to add JL audio's cleansweep cl441-dsp (found for ~160 on net). replace front speakers with component set and add amp to power components. can i get away with just these 3 things? if so, what is a good set of component speakers and amp that will keep me w/i budget?

option 2:

cleansweep cl441-dsp + front components + amp + rear 2-way speakers. would adding rear speakers make the overall sound quality better (i don't care about rear seat passengers)? if so, what are some recommendations?

from searching the archives infinti kappas and focals seem to come up often. are these still good component speakers to buy?

also, i noticed jl audio also has a cleansweep cl-ssi. i've read the details, but i'm still not sure what this does. would i need to buy this also?

i'd like to keep this closer to 300 (probably not possible) since i'm adding an ipod kit (~250) and i'll need to account for various other supplies needed for the install (mounting kits, wires, etc).

lastly, any recommendations (besides crutchfiled) for online retailers to order from?

thanks in advance. :)

2. coleman22

coleman22 Junior Member