1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Not possible... but my tranny is slipping...

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Merc05h, Nov 26, 2008.

1. Merc05h

Merc05h New Member

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    *Mod Note: Duplicate threads merged.
    Ok guys, first let me establish my bone-fides. I grew up on a junk-yard and have loved cars since before the cast iron powerglide. I have been an ASE Master Auto Tech (started 1977 when no one knew what they were). Now I am a Mechanical Engineer. So I know what my 2001 Prius is doing isn't possible. However, I'm comming home on the highway at 55 with no problems and running great at 144000mi, and suddenly on a small downhill with no bumps or anything, all ($%^&) breaks loose. All the lights on the dash and the display light up. Engine runs rough, I pull over immediately, engine continues to run, but at higher rpm at idle. I restart and again all lights, but engine continues to run.. I try to get to a parking area on the other side of the highway, with a jerky motion as I floorboard it just to get it to move. Get parked. After several restarts, finally get most of the lights out and the engine will idle and charge the traction batt. Thinking I can 'back up' on the traction batt to a better position for the roll-back to pick me up I try it. Again jerk, slip, jerk, slip, etc.... While I'm waiting, I slip on my high pot gloves (keepem in the trunk) and take out the service key from the trac batt and disconnect the 12v neg for a complete reboot. Wait 5 -10 min or so. Re hook up. Restart. No lights,what so ever. Now will shift to R , N, D, but just as soon as you touch the acc pedal in any gear, all lights and engine dies..... No codes! (yea, shouldn't have pulled the juice while waiting on the tow truck till I tried codes... oh well.. ) Once in a while, engine will run when you touch the gas pedal, but will not pull the car in R or D, just re