1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Now it begins "Bell the Hybrid"

Discussion in 'Prius, Hybrid, EV and Alt-Fuel News' started by bwilson4web, Apr 18, 2010.

1. bwilson4web

bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    NHTSA chief talks safety at SAE World Congress | detnews.com | The Detroit News

In fact, the NHTSA study is flawed because it did not count the number of vehicles to give a true rate per vehicle or 100 million miles. Worse, it did not include pickup trucks and SUVs that the NHTSA has already identified as having a higher rate of pedestrian accidents (Hogan and separate NHTSA 2009 report.)

Bob Wilson

1 person likes this.
  2. robbyr2

robbyr2 New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I'm no engineer or statistician but is it valid to use a few dozen people who are legally blind to base regulations on? They purposely only used comparable vehicles like the Toyota Corolla Hybrid (that is in the report) vs the Toyota Corolla, and the Honda Civic vs. the HCH, and the Prius vs. the Toyota Matrix (equiv size and weight). At 20mph or higher, the ICE vehicles were as quiet or quieter than the hybrids. More often than not, it was the ICE's that the blind persons never heard coming. And the only way they could make a significant difference was when there was virtually no ambient sound. According to the report, these regulations would help the 67,000 legally blind Americans who use only the white cane to get around be safe. And it makes clear that the only reason they need to bell the hybrid is because the blind representatives refuse to use existing technology that would warn them of all approaching vehicles.