1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Oil Change 2008 Model

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by fishys1, Aug 19, 2015.

1. fishys1

fishys1 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    I bought a used 2008 prius and it's time for me to get my first oil change. This is my first time getting an oil change for a car and have a few questions.
    1: I've heard that this model requires synthetic oil.. Is that true?
    2: If not do you recommend getting synthetic?
    3: I've heard that it's not necessary to replace the filter until it's black. Is that true? Is it mandatory to replace the filter with the oil?
    4: Where do you recommend i go to get my oil changed?
    5: Do you have any general pices of advice?
    Thank you guys! :3

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    If you live in the USA, I highly suggest you bring this car to the dealer. While you're there, they'll inspect your car and see if you need anything else for it. Like getting a free inspection.....

They "most likely" will try and upsell you on services you may not need, you can kindly decline everything they suggest and come back and post their suggestions on here. Then we'll let you know if you should do them or not and probably give you suggestions on doing it yourself.

#2 JC91006, Aug 19, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2015
  3. vskid3

vskid3 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    1. Gen2 called for 5W-30 regular oil every 5k miles.
    2. I personally do 0W-20 Mobil-1 synthetic in mine. I also stretch the change interval to 7-10k miles (aka: when I get around to it).
    3. I would replace the filter every time. Its like $5, why not? If it ends up getting fully clogged 1k miles into your oil, then you'll be driving the next 4k miles with the oil not being filtered.