1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

One week into ownership...the good and the niggles

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by richbaxter, Oct 22, 2017.

1. richbaxter

richbaxter Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    So I've had my Prius Gen 3 T-Spirit now for just over a week. I'm thoroughly impressed with it so far! Yes, it is a completely different driving experience but it becomes somewhat addictive to drive and I'm still learning things as I didn't even know there was a normal mode (with everything off) until today! I tend to keep it mostly in Eco mode so far with a mix of town driving and a few longer journeys. I've not had one person say they don't like the car when inside and myself and my partner both thing the interior is nicer then the new Prius.

There are a few niggles though. Firstly, for a car with so much tech and gizmos and being the T-Spirit model, I am utterly baffled as to why it doesn't have automatic headlights, auto dimming rearview mirror and even more bonkers, no heated leather seats! How can a car with leather seats not have heated seats?? Every car I've owned since the late 1990's with leather seats has had heated seats. I find the lack of these in such a high tech car pretty poor to be honest.

The final thing that is a little frustrating is the awful boot liner. OK, I can sort of see why it can be useful...if you want to leave a boot full of stuff on show to the general public but I've never had a car with a soft boot liner before and i am not a fan, especially when you own a small Shiht-zu who has a habit in previous cars of jumping on it. Is there a hard (even 3rd party) parcel shelf available? As a full time musician, I constantly have equipment in the back and the boot liner is not ideal.

Other then these niggles, I really love the car and yes, i will be spending that £170 to get the sat nav updated too!

2. 2k1Toaster