1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

P0A11 and how not to get scammed by mechanic

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by HuntingOrange, Feb 15, 2021.

1. HuntingOrange

HuntingOrange Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    One
    I am really quite new to this while owning a car thing. And I chose a Prius for my family so we could take fun family trips that I never got to enjoy.

I really want to take care of my car. I am worried because I have to take her in. Because this code came up and now my 12v won't hold a charge.

I am worried about getting scammed into paying more than I need and being taken advantage of. Is there advice I can ask of all of you on how to avoid this.

What questions should I ask, and how should I go about making sure I don't pay more than I need to

2. SFO

SFO Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    1. How many miles are on the vehicle?
    2. How many hours per week are you driving?
    3. When was the last time the 12v battery was changed? (there should be a date code on the top)
    4. Why do you think you have to take her in, what "code came up" ?
    5. If you did take her in, where would that be? (dealership, hybrid shop, etc.)
    6. Do you have some tools and a DIY attitude, or will you be paying to make problems go away?
    FYI - your postings are moderated until you've posted five (5) times.

3. TMR-JWAP

TMR-JWAP Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Step one is to determine if this P0A11 code is legitimate.