1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Phev: Why Not Now?

Discussion in 'Prius, Hybrid, EV and Alt-Fuel News' started by rpatterman, Jun 24, 2008.

1. rpatterman

rpatterman Thinking Progressive

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    What is the big stumbling block to getting PHEV today?
    Both the RAV4EV and the GM EV-1 proved that a EV was able to do 75+mph with a 100+ mile range.
    So combine that technology/battery pack and common hybrid technology.

Ok, so I am not an engineer, I'm sure it is more complicated than that.
    But please don't tell me it is because some big American corporation (Chevron?) is sitting on the battery technology.
    That would be so un-American to watch our economy nose dive while sitting on the solution.
    There must be more to the story than that.

2. ibcs

ibcs New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Big Oil Greed - Toyota already paid $30 million for patent infringement. Big battery packs using NIMH are not available for that reason.

3. Bob Allen

Bob Allen Captainbaba

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Big Oil company profits or the survival of the planet's ecosystem?....sounds like a reasonable exchange........

4. stevecaz

stevecaz New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Yep, I've been saying the same thing. It makes absolutely no sense that we can't have plug in hybrids now with ~40 mile+ electric only ranges, as the electric side is old tech.

It does make you think that people running companies like Chevron don't have any kids. I say Chevron under the widespread info that they are the ones who bought GM's patents regarding the EV-1 battery technology and are squashing it - but it applies to anyone else doing the same.