1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Physical mounting new head unit

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by William Yorston, Jun 4, 2024.

  1. William Yorston

    William Yorston Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2021
    9
    1
    0
    Location:
    Ruidoso, NM
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I bought a head unit off ebay that was compatible with my 2011 gen3. I learned yesterday that the 2 connectors from the car with no compatible connectors on the head unit are not needed. Now my dilemma is how does this fasten or bolt to the car. There is no place to attach the 10mm bolts, I looked at the original radio brackets but no luck there. So, how does this thing mount?
    Thanks in advance.
     
    #1 William Yorston, Jun 4, 2024
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2024
  2. Its34below

    Its34below Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2020
    5
    2
    0
    Location:
    Roanoke VA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Any pictures? The 2 I've installed came with their own plastic frame and enclosure. There was no need for the 4 *10 mm bolts after removing the factory unit. Same thing in my daughter's Toyota Corolla.

    My harnesses have had a several extra unused connectors and even 2 that were identical but with different wires. I picked the one with the most wires and installations have been a breeze.
     
  3. amarino

    amarino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    89
    68
    87
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    You didn't share which head unit you bought so we no idea what it looks like or what it comes with to mount to the car. Maybe reach out to the eBay seller that said it was compatible for the mounting instructions?
     
  4. William Yorston

    William Yorston Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2021
    9
    1
    0
    Location:
    Ruidoso, NM
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Sorry for not mentioning unit, 4+64GB Android 13 Car Stereo Radio Carplay GPS WIFI For Toyota Prius 2009-2013 | eBay is the unit, I have found I need a Metra Dash kit to mount it, now more problems discovered, CHECK HYBRID is now displayed, no control of display, no steering wheel controls and the sound is breaking up when using bluetooh. What a mess I've created for myself. And Yes, I have contacted the seller, no joy there for sure.

    Is there a unit that is compatable Truly with this car?
     
    #4 William Yorston, Jun 4, 2024
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2024
  5. amarino

    amarino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    89
    68
    87
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    First step would be to unplug any OBD2 and/or the entire head unit to see if the Check Hybrid error goes away.

    Usually for steering wheel controls you would get something like iDatalink Maestro or Axxess adapters, example here: https://www.crutchfield.com/g_118900/Steering-Wheel-Audio-Control-Adapters.html?o=f and harness to connect to the car https://www.crutchfield.com/g_751/Factory-System-Adapters.html?tp=3486

    You're probably going to have to spend 5x of that eBay head unit to get something that works and comes with support. Check out Crutchfield, they can make custom harnesses needed for a head unit and steering wheel control adapters. And they have support you can call
     
  6. William Yorston

    William Yorston Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2021
    9
    1
    0
    Location:
    Ruidoso, NM
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Ok, glad I'm not in a hurry, retirement is great. Progress is the check hybrid went off, that's good. I have the unit and phone connected. I have noticed the BT is weak, phone needs to be close to head unit. The phone fuunction works but is poor, incoming phone audio really broken up and unintelligible, as far as the distant phone sounds fine. Sound quality is very good. I still have stock base speakers but maybe the equalizer makes it sound richer. The seller is sending a new wiring bus so will see. The UI is clumsy and maybe issues with bt connectivity makes it awkward. Will keep you updated.
     
  7. William Yorston

    William Yorston Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2021
    9
    1
    0
    Location:
    Ruidoso, NM
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I doubt 5× unit price is justified for a 2011 with 155k, I just need something with visible navigation so my wife & I can stop arguing about me looking at my phone.
     
  8. William Yorston

    William Yorston Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2021
    9
    1
    0
    Location:
    Ruidoso, NM
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Just an update, no matter what I did, there always seemed to be an issue with this unit. I. Am thankful for what I've learned. It is now configured using a Hotspot off the phone, I really think this is by far better than Android auto. I used Fake Device test app and discovered it was showing Android 13 it is actually ver8.x. Also a bit suspicous concerning the memory. I confronted the seller and they are refunding the unit price + $30. I have ordered a unit off Amazon 8 core, 4/64gb Android 13 so will test it first before install.
     

    Attached Files: